Editing Progress Report

Hurray!!!

According to the amending version of the editing schedule, I’ve finished October’s target for editing! Which means I’ve done a full read through, patched up the holes and filled out the text. I’ve dealt with all the big continuity issues and a few of the small ones, made the whole thing flow a lot better and generally done the bulk of the editing I wanted to get done this year.

One of the things I’ve been doing the last couple of months is adding a bit more subplot and tension. The new version is still short – 65,000 words approximately – and given last night’s Booker Prize announcement, hardly seems to qualify as a novel at all, but I’m pleased with it. And for now at least, I think it’s where it needs to be.

December will be for a final read-through for some specific text-based issues, but hopefully no big picture ones. Then next year I’m going to send it out into the world – to Beta readers first, and then on a submission mission.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Editing Progress Report

  1. Good stuff, Jen. I wish I were doing something that exciting rather than unpacking boxes from the move, finding room for things (or not), and repacking what there’s no room for but that I want to keep. That includes many, many boxes of books. πŸ™‚

    janet

    • Ah, boxes of books, Janet. So hard to transport, so impossible to leave behind. Press on with the unpacking, and just think of all the wonderful adventures your new place will hold when it’s done!

      • The movers at both ends remarked more than once that we had a lot of books. The problem is that I don’t want to get rid of them so I’ll just get better boxes. πŸ™‚ The unpacking’s going quite well and I’ve even managed to get a number of books onto the bookshelves we do have. I love my Kindle, but it doesn’t replace have real books, except for travel.

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

