Friday Fiction – Enlightenment

A quick post from me today as I’m short of battery and internet time. Today’s picture is from Dawn M Miller and as ever Rochelle leads our merry band of believers and non-believers. I would have liked to add another paragraph at the end of this story to wrap things up, but it was hard enough to get it down to 100 words as it was, so the rest will have to be up to your imagination. Again, I am unlikely to have much time to read and comment on others – if that offends you, feel free to skip mine. Otherwise, enjoy!

lvbydawne_2

Enlightenment

Dad reeked of Catholic guilt like a sour cologne; Mum was Anglican and sometimes I felt only their agreement on the sixth Commandment kept them alive.

I veered wildly between the fires of Hell and the glories of Heaven: persuaded that while both could not be completely right, the truth lay where their dogmas converged. Then I met a man from the Unitarian Church.

“There are as many paths to Heaven as there are doorways in the world,” he told me. “Faith is the light that guides us, not the lantern that holds it, nor the hand that carries it.”

 

51 Comments

Filed under Friday Fiction, Writing

51 responses to “Friday Fiction – Enlightenment

  1. Good one Jen, I do like this take. The use of the lamps to create a discussion about which light led you to heaven is very clever. Well done.

  2. Dear Jennifer,

    Your last line gives me much to ponder. I’m impressed with the rapid fire submission. And it’s well-written to boot. Good job as always.

    Shalom

    Rochelle

    • I’ve heard raising children in a faith described as “tantamount to abuse”, which I think is ridiculous, but I do think parents should allow their children to see other worldviews than their own – and to respect them even if they don’t agree. I suppose this story is a nod towards that.

  3. Except for the ‘s’ on the end of theirs. Edit, edit, edit.

    ILY,

    Aloha,

    Doug

    P.S. I’m still reading. Feel free to edit this comment as soon as you get it. Ciao. D.

    • Ah, you are still reading. I was beginning to think greater things had claimed you. thanks for the heads up on the ‘s’. No-one noticed the big mistake – I’d meant to look up which Commandment I was referring to, but ran out of time. I’ve fixed both.
      And I’ve not edited your comment, not least because if I took out the concrit, there’d be just “aloha, Doug” left!!!

  4. Nice sentiments Jen. Hope you’re enjoying your visit.

  5. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers – Inheritance | The Blurred Line

  6. Excellent use of the prompt, Jen, and great opening sentence. I expect no less, of course. 🙂 Hope you’re having a blast. I’m off on Sunday myself, so no reading after that for a week. Such is reality.

    janet

  7. This was well-written and a different kind of take on the prompt.

  8. Jennifer,
    that’s a great take on the picture, going the metaphorical route. What a deep story.
    -David

  9. deep and masterfully written. a great take on the image.

  10. Jen I liked your philosophical approach to the prompt. And the wisdom and struggle to find ones path each their own.

  11. I like where you took this story. Very creative.

  12. Love your take on the photo prompt. Creative and inspiring.

  13. Glynis

    Interesting take on the prompt, but I was so agree with. This was very imaginative.

  14. I enjoyed your FF story quite a bit. I love it when a story flows and am amazed that it can wrap up so quickly and so nicely.

  15. As someone who doesn’t even know what the Sixth Commandment says, i thought that story was pretty cool and right on target. Thanks!

  16. Wow. You had me at ‘Dad reeked of Catholic guilt…’ very nice writing Jen, as usual, but did you have to make the mere mortals among us feel so inadequate with the admission that you rushed it – and then came up with this! I doff my cap. 🙂

  17. Jennifer, congrats on coming in 4th this time! It’s a challenge in itself! I really like the clever discussion of faith, based on light. As soon as I saw this photo, I went with “And let there be light…” Sounds like we were similarly inspired. Again. 😉

  18. Love the comparison between guilt and sour cologne!

  19. I think you did a fine job fitting everything in. The story works as is, IMHO.

    I also found it difficult to squeeze my story into 100 words this week. If I didn’t have an amazingly accommodating spouse who took the time to give feedback, I doubt I would have accomplished the feat.

    Cheers!
    MG

  20. Great take on the prompt. I like your “light” touch with such a deep subject.

  21. Ah very innovative use of the prompt.. I can understand the conflicts created between the views of different churches…

    • It’s a tough question with no easy answers, I suspect. The Unitarian’s attitude in this story would be a good one, but I fear many religious people believe tolerance goes against their tenets.

  22. You are a marvel – and this is excellent. Thanks for writing something I can ponder all night about – I really did enjoy your piece!

  23. Agreed.

    And the perfect title for your story.

  24. A very insightful story, Jennifer. Some nice lines, starting with the Catholic guilt one.

  25. Oh I love that last line! I love your opening metaphor! A nice tight story with a moral! It’s like a piece of chocolate cake after dessert!

  26. I love the metaphorical take on lamps and light!

  27. Let’s hope there are no blackouts or bust fuses.

  28. Beautiful story and a wonderful take on faith! I went with a similar theme and used the bible verse about hiding your light under a bushel as a launch pad. I really enjoyed your story!

  29. camgal

    Excellent piece 🙂

  30. Beautiful story and enlightening too 😀
    I loved your take on the prompt

  31. So good. The sour cologne and agreement on the fist commandment in the first paragraph so telling.

  32. I like the take on the light(s).

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

