Friday Fiction – Typographical Error

At last, we have Word its much-underrated word count tool back again. This week’s story is exactly 100 words long – thank you for your patience over recent offerings.

Rochelle is both our hostess and our photographer today. Her picture (black wing tips) reminded me of one I took a few years ago on a trip of a lifetime (red wing tips), and that led me to this little story. I hope you enjoy it, and look forward to reading your comments, good and bad.

view-from-the-plane   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Typographical Error

There was no line where the clouds stopped and the Himalayas began. Peaks and troughs of snowy white gave way to more of the same as the plane soared westward.  Its destination was surprisingly modern for a mountain outpost: evidence that Lhasa Gonggar airport was part of modern China as well as ancient Tibet.

“Meet me at LAX,” Steve had said. But he’d also said, “I love you,” and “I’m sorry,” and “I’ll never do it again.”

Some people would call it a mistake. But as her plane touched down at LXA, Lisa felt she was finally doing something right.

26 Comments

Filed under Friday Fiction, Writing

26 responses to “Friday Fiction – Typographical Error

  1. I don’t have a word.count tool lately. I hope their luck is better than the cast of “Lost Horizon”

  2. Love that little dialog bit in the middle. Had to do a little googling, but the airport codes were a nice touch.

    • Thanks Craig, I had hoped the bit about Tibet was clue enough to LXA and I figured most people know LAX, but from various comments maybe not. Glad you liked it overall!

  3. Yes such a “mistake” is the first step toward a new life.

  4. So much to love here, Jennifer. I used to proofread (mostly telephone directories and Sunday School papers), and I can tell you that transposing letters and numbers is definitely the most common typographical error. She’ll at least have plausible deniability should she need it.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  5. I like her “accidental” reaction to whatever bad-thing he did. Great take on a wide open prompt.

  6. Dearest Jennifer,

    This was absolutely brilliant. A great metaphor for life and love and the many slips that come betwixt the cup and the lip.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. Dear Jennifer,

    I love a happy, if not unexpected ending. Well done.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. I know you have something here when I have to re-read it a few times (of course, it’s early in the morning here). The results are wonderful, Jen! Who knew a small thing like three letters could lead to a whole better life? Score points!

  9. Melanie

    Oh what a wonderful little story!
    I think LXA is probably a much better destination. Though this is coming from a “scorned once never go back” kind of woman. I’ll give second chances, but not when I’ve had to superglue my heart back together.

    • I agree, Melanie. In my head, Steve’s offense had been of the abuse kind, not the one-off kind, so she is definitely better off. But I couldn’t find a clean way to show that on the page, so I ended up leaving it open.

  10. A deep and layered story. Well done.

  11. Oh, what a clever and rewarding story! I liked it so much I even read it out to my husband 😛

  12. Claudia

    Nice job….made me think.

  13. Well, she could have landed at XNA, which is near me, but are far piece from either of the other two options.

  14. What a great, clever story. So well composed, crafted and finished. I was looking for that typo from the beginning and I almost missed it.

  15. Jennifer, Well-written and interesting story. The difference in the three letters went right over my head the first time. I read the comments and then read it a second time. It had a whole different meaning then. Clever and well done. 🙂 —Susan

  16. oops. A little bit of an X factor here.
    nice , randy

  17. Dear Jennifer, Great story and I love the LAX and LXA confusion. So clever of you! Nan 🙂

  18. Somehow I think Steve might have said those words before. I get a real sense of Lisa’s hope and moving on. As your title is such a misnomer, I wonder if it would improve with a ? or would that make the outcome too obvious?

    • I did wonder about the title – it’s a misnomer as you say (although the longer version in my head is that she went online to book LAX flights, accidentally mistyped it and then went with the ‘mistake’, so the title fits that version) but without it I think some readers would have missed the point, so…

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

