Voice Week 2014 – 2: Brenda

Yesterday was the first day of Voice Week and you met Sebastian. If you haven’t read the story already, please feel free to drop by. If you have, I hope you met a lovely but conflicted toddler, whose Mama is genuinely trying to help but runs the risk in turns of going too far and not far enough in helping him eat his banana. Oh yes, and he loves apple pie.

Today is Brenda’s turn. Again, I’d love to know who you think she is and how well you think her voice is shown in this extract.

 

BRENDA

Oh, Roger. I knew I shouldn’t have asked him to buy groceries. Men can’t do it right. They think “bananas” means, “the first bunch you see”. But it doesn’t. It’s an art, picking bananas. And a science. Too green and they’ll never ripen; too yellow and they’re already past their best. But black? Honestly.

These are going to be vile. Not even suitable for making into banana bread. They’ve clearly been kicking about the store’s floor for a week. Black, bruised and … yes, they taste just as bad. Soft and over-sweet. How can something so good go so wrong?

 

27 Comments

Filed under Voice Week

27 responses to “Voice Week 2014 – 2: Brenda

  1. Pingback: Voice Week 2014 – 2: Brenda | elmowrites | Voice Week HQ

  2. A homey wife, knows her way around the kitchen, and likes what she does. She’s truly fond of her husband, despite the disparaging remarks. That’s what I get out of it, anyway.

    By the way, I love that you have picked something as random as a banana as a prompt. It’s hilarious and you’re getting a tremendous amount out of it already.

    • Oh I’m glad you think she’s fond of Roger, I’m inclined to agree. She is a grumbler though, so hopefully he has a thick skin to put up with it.
      Thanks for the official approval of the banana topic – it was just where I ended up, but you’re right. I am getting more out of it than you might think!

  3. Obviously much different than yesterday’s post but I empathize with this woman, I mean come on, how hard is it to get bananas?

  4. I feel that the last line is not really about bananas but about their relationship. Perhaps she’s as picky about other things, too (not that she isn’t right about men going to the grocery store) and Roger can never do anything right. Or perhaps it’s just my FF mindset showing through. 🙂

    janet

  5. I can definitely see (and I have seen) the woman who’s frustrated at her husband’s inability to do a good job grocery shopping. Perhaps it’s unlikely that a man would really buy bananas so black they can’t even be used for banana bread, but that just adds a comedic element, and the scenario is still very relatable.

  6. Definitely a wife frustrated with her husband’s inability to shop 🙂

  7. Tsk. Men!

    This strikes me as a woman who needs things to be just so — she knows what she wants. I also felt just the slightest spark of something deeper with that last line. Perhaps she’s no longer thinking about bananas…

    Another awesome voice. 🙂

  8. I don’t trust my husband to grocery shop either. Even if I give him a comprehensive list, he brings home all sort of crazy stuff. This was a very relatable voice.

    • LOL, I write long descriptions on the grocery list of what and where to find it if my husband has to go. He’s pretty good though. Except once when I sent him for a Nectarine and he went looking for “some sort of orange”

  9. Evan

    Hmm…as one of the people who would act much like the husband here, it’s interesting to read someone else’s side 😉 I like how this one adds an extra dimension to yesterday–nice job! Can’t wait for tomorrow!

  10. I don’t think it matters what Roger does. Brenda would be a very hard woman to please. Good voice!

  11. I was wondering how many banana eating perspectives can be. I like voice 2 also! It’s a tall task you have signed yourself for I think… I am curious what comes next. 🙂
    Black bananas… Men! LOL

  12. Haha! I love this banana theme. This person seems like a perfectionist, process-oriented and meticulous, who cannot understand how another person could think differently from them. I like the intense contrast with Monday’s voice, who couldn’t have cared less how gross the banana was, Sebastian just wanted a friggin banana.

  13. Oh she sounds so sweet, and does not seem to hold it against Roger for getting the shopping wrong. I’m not sure if it’s just me, but she sounds like a playful character, and this gives me the impression they have a lovely relationship. 🙂

  14. Sebastian’s mother? She sounds very picky and particular. Nice job. ^ ^

    Stori Tori’s Blog

  15. A housewife who wants to feed her family healthy food and gets frustrated when the hubby doesn’t buy fresh fruit?

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

