Friday Fiction – Fix It (reprise)

Rochelle is the kindest, most understanding leader ever and just to prove it, she’s given us a repeater photo today. So here’s one I made earlier … July 2012, when I was not a mother at all, let alone a few weeks from being one twice over. Copyright belongs to FF founder and original leader, Madison Woods.

Interesting to read it back; I remembered the gist but not the story and certainly not the words. Would I write it differently now? Maybe, but I can’t put my finger on how. Your reactions are always welcome.

faucet-21-224x300

Fix It

“There’s a hole in my bucket, dear Liza, dear Liza,” Dad sang as Chantal wiggled the tap again.

“Could you possibly do something more useful than singing?”

“Like fix it?” he asked, adding “Dear Henry,” under his breath.

She tried to smile. Singing was better than the gloom he’d been in since Mum left. But he looked manic: seven-week beard, shirt Mum hated. Perhaps that’s why she left: his dress-sense.

Or perhaps it was this infernal tap: dripping at all hours like the incessant tick of time. Maybe if she fixed the tap, or changed his clothes, Mum’d come back.

30 Comments

Filed under Friday Fiction, Writing

30 responses to “Friday Fiction – Fix It (reprise)

  1. Dear Jen,

    I had to go back and see the original post. I was such a comment novice back then and was appalled at how few comments I’d replied to on my story. It’s kind of fun to do an occasional oldie since we have so many new people since then.

    I enjoyed your story then and love it still.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS I’m happy to have afforded you a little break. 😉

  2. If the solutions for life problems were just as simple as fixing the tap and shirt….plumbers would be great demand and malls full. Nice one.

  3. I’ll bet there’s a lot more involved than leaky taps and bad shirts. Good story way back when, good story now.

  4. If it was as easy as that… I have a feeling that kids try to look for simple things like that. Nice with an oldie…

  5. Dear Jen,
    Retreads are often a welcome treat, and I especially enjoyed this particular retread. Nice job.

    Congratulations on the upcoming addition to your family. I certainly understand if you take a few weeks off while adjusting to the changes, and I’ll be here to read more any time you can squeeze in a story.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • I appreciate that, MG. I suspect there will be a break in a few weeks when little one arrives, but I’m trying to keep up in the meantime… we’ll see!

  6. Francesca Smith

    It is nice to revisit old work (and also a refreshing break!)
    Her father seems to be coping well, but I wonder if that is the same underneath?
    Great story.

  7. When we’re really beaten down by problems too serious to have a solution, then it’s always the small things that take on monumental importance and consume our attention. You made that very real.

  8. Mum could always ring a plumber.
    Good piece Jen.

  9. Hooray, finally a woman who has the potential to mend a tap (yours is the third tap-dripping story and in the others the women want a man to do it). I think I remember this from first time around – it’s great – so much story in a such a tiny incident.

  10. It may not bring Mum back, but it would be good for him in any case. Poor Chantal, though. I like the way you indirectly say so much about Dad by letting him sing that song. And as a newcomer, I love these little glimpses into FF’s past.

  11. Is it me – I found this positive, it had a fun feel to it (obviously a sad backdrop with mum leaving, but still…)

    Great stuff.
    KT

  12. Very interesting piece, I can’t decide if it’s happy or sad, or the dad is making it or he isn’t. Maybe I’ll figure it the third time around ….

  13. Nice one. The father and daughter lost in their thoughts and coping in different ways. And then the mystery surrounding the mother’s departure.

  14. i think Mum had enough for good reasons.

  15. I’m sure he had some redeeming qualities. Connie doesn’t always appreciate me wearing overalls, so I wear waist-britches as I call them when we go out together. But still, I see nothing wrong with being comfortable. It’s always harder on the kids than the adults.

  16. A great story Jennifer. and how many times have I seen children trying to fix their parents in the course of ministry? Sadly the answer to that is too many.

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

