Friday Fiction – Summer re-run

Rochelle has offered us a break this week – an old picture from FF long ago. I’d be crazy not to take the gift, so here is the link to my old story. Names aside, it could be another chapter in the lives of my fictional boys, Matty and Luke, but I wrote it before they were created. I’m not sure I’d write it quite the same way now; the last line feels a touch forced, but I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I also have a warning for you. Although I hope to continue writing and posting during this newborn phase for my own sanity, my reading / commenting time is likely to be severely restricted. I believe in the FF principle that we should join in on both sides of the fence, so if it upsets you that I’m not reading many (even any) other stories at the moment, please feel free to skip mine. I totally understand that blogging should be reciprocal and I appreciate your time is precious. I’ll be back properly as soon as I’m able. Thanks!

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Friday Fiction – Summer re-run

  1. I actually like the original story as-is, Jen. Good work.

    Take whatever time you need with that new little one. I have no problem reading others who usually play along when they find themselves a bit short on time. Frankly, a strict tit-for-tat blogging world gets rather tedious.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • Thanks, MG. I agree that strict tit-for-tat isn’t a great way to go, but I do know that FF runs on a sort of ‘fair reading’ policy, which I think is nice. Thanks for the support!

  2. That was such a nice story there – and the little one deserves the attention now! πŸ™‚

  3. Dear Jenn,

    My opinion hasn’t changed. Delightful. I suspect you may be able to insert the names Sebastian and Dominic in the not too distant future.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Go do what you need to do. Reading your work is always a pleasure and a highlight!

  5. Love the story – I remember my own sons doing similar, and my grandsons! Enjoy your baby – there are two new girls in my family and I know how exhausting they are.

  6. Just the fact you found time to include your original link is enough! Loved it!

  7. Your story’s great. We have a grandson who’s currently into playing spies, and my husband was cajoled into being on the other end of the walkie-talkie dialogue just yesterday. It sounded very similar, with spy references instead of space ones. Good fun. All the best with baby duties – one can only do what one can do.

  8. Dear Jennifer, Happy Birth for your darling baby! You are so busy – don’t ever worry about reading my stuff – it’s okay. I had four boys and I remember how busy and tired I was. Enjoy your baby and Congratulations! Nan

  9. Cute story. I enjoyed it. Congratulations on the birth of your baby! Hopefully you’ll find some time to write when the boys are asleep!

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

