Friday Fiction – Another Brother

Last week’s story seemed to stir a lot of emotions and sympathy. I hope the Fictioneers are as kind and generous in person as they are too my little stories – thank you all! This week, I’ve gone a different way and I anticipate a lot less sympathy for my narrator. He’s a product of his upbringing, but that doesn’t make him right.

I welcome your comments and critique: good or bad.

This week’s photograph comes from Sandra Crook.

dijon

Another Brother

A big family fits together over the years, tessellating like triangles and hexagons, so newcomers always have a tough time fitting in. You can’t just add a square without putting some corners out of joint. Shelley was in love: she thought we’d all love Johnny too. But Mum and Dad struggled to lose their princess to anyone, and the last thing we needed was another brother, even one –in-law.

Then Bradley introduced his own deviation to the mix and Johnny seemed homogenous beside Elliot. None of us had ever worn tight pink t-shirts and hot pants, not even the girls.

45 Comments

Filed under Friday Fiction, Writing

45 responses to “Friday Fiction – Another Brother

  1. Francesca Smith

    I believe it is “normal” (but then a again, what is normal), for someone to think like that, especially if it bursts his or her world.
    Very good story!

  2. Seems Elliot has helped the family accept Johnny. Maybe that’s a good thing.

  3. How true is this!!! ‘Tis rare that a newcomer is “fitted” in immediately (except in my husband’s case… I don’t know what he had but he blended in so seamlessly we thought he had always been there!)

  4. I love the concept of a big family tessellating like triangles and hexagons.

  5. Love the word’ tessellating’. And the story too – very clever with a killer last line. Well done.

  6. Families are a nightmare! Maybe we expect too much.
    Good piece.

  7. Dear Jennifer,

    Be it ever do dysfunctional there’s no place hmeo. πŸ˜‰ You had me laughing out loud. I’m sure Bradley was a challenging fit to this family. Well written as ever.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Possibly they didn’t know until he brought Elliot home, but I like to think maybe they did and were fine with his preferences, even if it took them a while to see past Elliot’s dress sense

  8. Not a perfect family, but perfectly real. I have hope they’ll work off their pointy corners with time.

  9. So the rebel shows how “different”-s can match-in too !

  10. Glorious little twist at the end. Made me snort coffee.

  11. Blending families – always a challenge. I usually like the oddest balls best.

  12. It’s all relative, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

  13. Great take on the prompt! Trying to fit into an already existing pattern is tough and in many families new-comers remain outsiders even after decades. Very well done story.

  14. My husband wears pink shirts and claims ‘it takes a real man to wear pink’ – he doesn’t wear them with hotpants, though, thank goodness!

  15. Ooh . . . I love “tessallating like triangles and hexagons.” I feel bad for both these fellows. Four years ago I became a new adult member of a family that hadn’t added an in-law in over 20 years. I’ve given up hope of ever being a full-fledged family member to most of them. The kids dig me, and my mother-in-law likes me about half the time. That will have to suffice.

    All my best,
    MG

  16. I love how you describe family! Families are always growing…and it’s rarely easy, but usually rewarding. Well done!

  17. Kalpana solsi

    It takes years at times a generation for a family to accept a new member into the fold. Perfect or otherwise, there is nothing like a big family.

  18. Hot pants! How funny. This is a fantastic use of the beautiful roof in the prompt – so clever. Personal story: my mother loves to tell whoever will listen that she wasn’t very impressed by my husband when he first arrived on the scene, but he came good, and now she loves him like a son. It’s a standing source of family humour – we wait for it every family gathering.

  19. Family dynamics, a troubling thing or a blessing? Very well written, love the ending.

  20. Ha! Ha! Nice one and I loved the ‘tessellating like triangles and hexagons’ line.

  21. I love it, and too tight family tesselating (had to look it up, great word) can use a bit of pink. Yay for Bradley and his love.

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

