FF – The Greatest of These

This week’s FF story is a special one to me. During my recent absence, I lost my last surviving grandparent: my Grandma. She was a wonderful woman who wore her heart on her sleeve and never let any of us forget how much she loved us. She follows my Grandad, with whom she had a long and loving marriage of over 60 years and who I know she missed every day since his death. Although I don’t know what is on ‘the other side’, I am certain that her grief is over. Either they are now together or else it doesn’t matter.

When I saw Rochelle‘s picture, this story is what came to me. I hope you like it; I welcome your comments.

waves

The Greatest of These

The noise lapped over her in waves: hushed voices, a reading from Corinthians, a baby crying and quickly quieted. There was a weight to the sounds that wrapped them around her like an embrace, though she could see, hear, and feel none of it.
From a distance, and across a gap both wider and narrower than the physical one, she knew nothing of the details. Sight, sound and sensation were lost to her. Where she was, only love remained – from those near and far, surviving and already departed. It was love that flowed both ways, and would never end.

Of all the photos from my wedding, this remains one of my favourites.

Of all the photos from my wedding, this remains one of my favourites.

32 Comments

Filed under Friday Fiction, Writing

32 responses to “FF – The Greatest of These

  1. Beautiful!
    Sorry for your loss!
    The release in writing won’t be enough.
    No one can fill another’s absence
    Except God!

    • Thank you. I must admit, I don’t write for release; I just write what comes. Usually it’s pure fiction, but occasionally I recognise what I’m writing.

  2. First, I’m sorry for your loss. Your story is beautifully written, but I couldn’t quite comprehend the setting. Is it set on the other side?

  3. Something about the sentence structure, length, words used makes this seem like some kind of tug-of-war, and that makes it wonderful.

  4. SO sorry, Jen, about your grandma. May her memory be for a blessing.
    Mine are all gone, too, so I know how it is. It’s sad when circumstances like these create beautiful words such as you put down on the blog this week. Truly wonderful.

    I’m listening to music as I write this and Elvis Presley’s Farther Along just snapped on. Who knew??? Find it on-line, listen and be encouraged.

    You know, I think I see a little bit of grandpa in that face of yours. 😉

  5. michael1148humphris

    I am sorry about the loss of your grandparents, I have found that I do not forget those I loved.

  6. This is a wonderful tribute to your grandparents, the love is tangible. I’m sorry for your loss.

  7. What a lovely, tender story! I’m so sorry for your loss!

  8. Beautiful. I also liked the line in your introduction where you said either they are together or it doesn’t matter.

  9. Dear Jen,

    Very sweet story. Sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing this.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. My condolences to you for your loss. Losing someone special is one of those things in life that never gets any easier no matter how many times it happens. You wrote a lovely story. Thank you for sharing a piece of your life with us.

  11. What a wonderful depiction of the survival of love. This is beautiful. And the photo of your grandparents is lovely. Sad times for you, Jen.

  12. This is just wonderful, and something to wish for… But as you say it might not matter

  13. Oh wow…this is a wonderful homage.

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

