Inspiration Monday – Invisible Sky

It’s been a while since I joined in with Inspiration Monday, so this week I’m trying to make up for it by covering two prompts in a single 100 word story: view from the gutter and invisible sky. It’s not necessarily a very unique take on either, but I hope you like it and I’d love to hear your thoughts.

View From The Gutter

I’m underfoot. You can see it in their faces: these people who walk about the city in smart suits and high-rise heels: hurrying to the next meeting, or a lunch date with a married admirer. They barely see me, only to ensure I don’t infect them, drag them down somehow. If they throw something in my cup, it is to avoid having to look at me; to save themselves from the danger of awareness.

And I know how it feels to tower with them, close to the invisible sky: hope and future and promise. Do they even see it themselves?

10 Comments

Filed under Inspiration Monday, Writing

10 responses to “Inspiration Monday – Invisible Sky

  1. I think that your story has great relevance and poignancy in these hard times. The mighty can fall too and there descent is often the quickest.

  2. Very poignant. And a pertinent question in the end.
    Those who have it squander away while others yearn all their lives.
    Great work!

    • It’s easy to take things for granted, isn’t it? “You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone” has a lot of resonance for me, which I tried to put into this piece. Thansk for stopping by.

  3. “The danger of awareness.” Now that is a turn of phrase bursting with truth. Nice work.

  4. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: erase her « BeKindRewrite

  5. KP

    All we see is the dirty drop-out. We fail to see the person behind the visage. Nicely fitted into 100 words.

    • Glad you liked it, KP. Everyone is human but sometimes it’s easy to see others as just part of the backdrop to our own lives. As writers, I think it’s good for us to try to see the person behind every visage. Thinking about it, that would probably be healthy for everyone to do!

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here: