The Challenge of Challenges

I love a challenge as much as the next person, and I’m always a fan when my friends take them on, whether it’s read a book a week, run a marathon or write a letter every day for a month. I often want to join in – I’d love to read more, write more letters and post a photo every day about how thankful I am (I’ll live without the marathon, thanks, although I have started going to the gym more often). And all of these things are possible – I’ve done nanowrimo; I know there is time in every day you never thought was there.

But it’s not possibly to do ALL these things at once – you have to pick your priorities. I don’t like picking, so I’m trying a gentler version of a lot of things…

I have recently joined a book group and although we spend more time talking about jobs and babies than the book, it’s encouraged me to read more, which is fantastic. But if I read a book a week, something else would have to go.

I am trying to be more thankful – that’s always a good mood booster and mood boosting is always a good thing – but I don’t think I’ll subject anyone to photos of it.

There are lots of people I only seem to contact at Christmas. I’m not sure about a letter a day, but I’d certainly like to keep in better contact with the people I love.

AND I’m writing more too – I got into a bit of a slump post-November and have settled on my haunches a bit. I’m keen to get back to writing more than just what appears on this blog. I’ve got plans for next year’s NaNo novel, which will take a lot of planning and research, so I need to start early, and for some short stories. Plus I always welcome prompts – on Saturday I wrote 500 words about dogs taking over Toronto post-apocalypse on the whim of a friend I was chatting to that morning. It was a lot of fun.

What’s your latest challenge? Should I be adding a watered down version of that to my life too?

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “The Challenge of Challenges

  1. I’m going to be doing the Hardcore Mudd Run (hardcoremuddrun.com) and Tough Mudder (toughtmudder.com) this year so I need to train for those. Also have read more (certainly not a book a week, but more) and write more on my list. Currently I’m working on something I’m calling “100 tiny tales of terror.” Basically a collection of 100 stories a hundred words each, of which about 35 have appeared on my blog as part of Friday Fictioneers. The rest are new. Almost finished with that then it’s on to one of about a billion other writing projects.

  2. Ali Ryder

    My current challenge is #40acts, 40acts of gratitude for Lent rather tha. Just giving something up. Today’s challenge was OTT generosity so I bought a couple of big bunches of tulips and then the girls and I went out and gave flowers to people in the street and neighbours. Some responses lovely, some quite a challenge!

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

