FF – GreenWorks

Thanks to Susan Rouchard, who supplies another great photo this week.

TW: Covid lockdowns.

GreenWorks

Trapped inside with nothing green visible through the window, Laurie can’t remember what grass looks like, or feels like under her feet.

She’s read so many books, the piles nearly block her view of rooftops and sky. Friends leave them outside her door, along with food, toilet paper, bleach. They used to leave empty promises too – See you soon – but the promises stopped.

Someone on TV suggested injecting bleach to inoculate against the virus, but it’s the insanity Laurie wants to escape. She chuckles. A more certain use for the bleach.  She stares at the bottle. It’s green.

Extroduction

(A reminder that the extro is totally optional – my stories are intended to stand alone, this is just extra info for those who wish to dig deeper.)

I avoid talking about those years as much as I can. It feels like a lifetime ago and yet, even typing this, all those emotions rush back in, the tears well and my hands shake. Still, as soon as I saw Susan’s photo, that’s where the muse went and I rarely succeed in steering her course. Laurie is fictional though, and her lockdown sounds bleaker than mine ever was. Greenworks, by the way, is a brand of green (both in colour and in its environmental claims) surface cleaner here in Canada.

I always hated those “we’re in this together” slogans from rich, powerful men who were often breaking their own rules anyway. We were NEVER all in the same boat. Some of us were riding the waves in luxury yachts with servants waiting on us hand and foot; some of us were clinging to the sides of a leaky dinghy.

Still, we are all on the same earth, and that’s how I like to interpret this song and the beautiful video that goes with it.

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “FF – GreenWorks

  1. One thing I do miss about those lockdown years was the time suddenly available to read, and other long put off hobbies. It did drag on in the end though!

  2. I wonder whether any politician will ever again dare say “we’re all in it together”

  3. Ugh, please no other pandemic during my lifetime. I’m one of those who didn’t have time all of a sudden, but more work than ever as an ‘essential worker’. I’m not angry or sad, it was necessary. These were exhausting years.

  4. Yes, insanity sums up that time indeed. My daughter locked her husband in the bedroom for two weeks until he was clear of covid. Strangely, neither I or my daughter caught the virus from him. I think he was having us on! They were living with me at the time, while their move into a new house was continually delayed.

    I lived in an isolation bubble(??) looking after my elderly mother, who lived further away.

    Yes insanity.

    • My husband shut himself in a bedroom too while his vulnerable father stayed with us. 3 months later, my FIL caught it in a supermarket and didn’t even have symptoms. The things we did…

  5. It’s so strange remembering those times. It feels as though it was in another universe. Life felt surreal. You’ve caught it (the feeling, not the virus 😳) in your story. Losing touch with the natural world, the social world, the crazy things some people said (Bleach? Really?).

  6. You captured that moment in time really well here. The lonliness really shows through, the madness and boredom too.

  7. The irony of “We’re all in it together” was laughable. But the restricitions were not laughable, and I don’t miss them at all. So happy it seems we’re not facing them now, although there was some talk of it again during the winter flu season.

  8. The irony of “We’re all in it together” was laughable. But the restricitions were not laughable, and I don’t miss them at all. So happy it seems we’re not facing them now, although there was some talk of it again during the winter flu season.

  9. Happy those days are over. I hope she gets out to feel the grass. Well done.

  10. Dear Jen,

    It’s strange to realize that lockdown was 4 years ago already. I painted 42 paintings in 2020.

    You set the stage well.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. it is a bluff and will always remain a bluff, the truth is that everyone is in his boat

  12. They were strange times indeed. I remember going on my daily permitted walk with my husband, and seeing people approach on a narrow pavement, that vacillation – who was going to cross to the other side of the road? You brought it back nicely.

  13. The insanity really was almost too much! I never quite understood the stay inside part, as sun is so good for our immune systems.

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here: