Friday Fiction summer rerun

Why is it that being on holiday means having less time for your hobbies??? Luckily, I’m not the only one this week and Rochelle’s summer rerun allows me to recycle some writing time. Here’s the entry I submitted for this week’s photo back in August 2012.

p1ePeVI

What do you think? Can you see changes in my writing style over the last two years? I wrote this before I had a son of my own – I wonder how it would change if I wrote it again now.

PS Sorry for the issues with the link – the joys of trying to create a post on an ipad. Hopefully it works now.

16 Comments

Filed under Friday Fiction, Uncategorized

16 responses to “Friday Fiction summer rerun

  1. Jen, The link isn’t working for some reason. —Susan

  2. Doesn’t work for me, either, and the link isn’t live, has to be copied and pasted.

    janet

    • Copy andaste easier said than done with the techonolgy available. It was a paste that’s worked in the past but i obviously did something wrong this time then wasn’t home earlierto fix it

  3. I’ve 2 boys and I know how it is when they start teasing each other. Nice story!

  4. Dear Elmo, I couldn’t get it either – must be something I’m doing. Have a good week! Nan πŸ™‚

  5. I remember this from 2012. Great juxtaposition of the kids and the mother and what they’re all going through. Nice piece.

  6. Jen, I got through to it this time. It seems Mom is set on ignoring those two in the back seat. She’s probably very tired of trying to control them. Well written and humorous. πŸ™‚ —Susan

  7. Oh, what a story! I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or cry – very nicely done. What a difference perspective makes.
    Your opening line back then is the same as the one I chose for my newly-written piece this week – lol!!

  8. Dear Jen,

    I had no problem with the link. And I still love this story. It says so much about how children handle loss. Thanks for sharing it again.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here:

