Inspiration Monday – True Myth

Another Thursday, another post for InMon. Of this week’s prompts, the phrase “true myth” jumped out at me. There are a lot of true myths around at this time of year – not least the idea that Christmas is the most important festival of the year (if you’re Christian, you know that’s Easter, and if you’re not, you are celebrating something that isn’t a holyday [sic] for you at all! And yet, it the Western world, the propagators of the myth have made it true.) Of course, a true myth could mean something that truly is a myth and as such would need to fit the dictionary definition. For example:

a traditional or legendary story, usually concerning some being or hero or event, with or without a determinable basis of fact or a natural explanation, especially one that is concerned with deities or demigods and explains some practice, rite, or phenomenon of nature.

In that case, most of the things we associate with Christmas aren’t true myths at all. Except, of course, the Christmas Story itself.

But, all that postulating aside, my story in response to the prompt is far less highbrow, and is the opening to a Bridget Jones-esque romance novel I will probably never write. I’d love to hear what you think.

True Myth

It’s a myth universally acknowledged that a single woman of a certain age must be in want of a husband. Or a wife, I suppose. Unless she has a houseful of cats, in which case she is probably happy just the way she is. Do cats make one happy, I wonder, or does a girl only fill the house with cats when she has already ruled out the possibility of happiness?

It’s clearly a myth. I know at least one woman who has neither cats nor life partner, and appears not to be desirous of either. Amy doesn’t just claim to be content, the way we single women do when our married friends flaunt their gorgeous, rich husbands in our faces, and subject us to their two-point-four perfect children. I’ve got that act down to a fine art: I can coo over a baby without the slightest hint of envy audible in my voice, and I genuinely don’t feel jealous when those perfect children are screaming, vomiting or tearing down shelves full of expensive crockery in Debenhams. But Amy really genuinely doesn’t seem to want all that. She’s a wildly-successful career woman, she has a one-week stand occasionally with some cute guy she finds in a bar, and then she goes home to her expensive flat in the Docklands, and is happy.

Single girls can tell. Sure, our married friends probably think we are all Amys, but we know better. I know for a fact that Sarah would have married Peter Proctor if he’d only asked her, even if it meant living out in Oman and wearing the hijab for the rest of her life; and I know that Josie is still hoping to turn up Mr Right among the other hunt protesters, regardless of their dodgy facial hair and obsession with injuring horses in the name of animal rights.

And they know about me. Because, for all that it’s a myth, where I’m concerned, the problem is it’s true.

3 Comments

Filed under Inspiration Monday, Writing

3 responses to “Inspiration Monday – True Myth

  1. Me too! Er…I mean, a strong, funny, relatable voice that reminds me a lot of Tina Fey’s “Bossypants,” which I just finished reading yesterday. Of course I love the inclusion of a little P&P parody!

    Cool discussion of the possible meanings of “truth myth,” too. You hit it on the head with the Christmas story. As I was just telling Oscar, I got it from C.S. Lewis’s idea that mythology is a sort of hazy precursor to truth – all the myths of gods coming to earth and dying and coming alive again were twisted shadows of what was to come, and that Christianity itself is the true version. Interesting stuff.

    • Ooh, I don’t think I’d heard CS Lewis’s take on mythology like that before, Steph. Fascinating. And I’m glad you liked the voice in this one – I enjoyed writing her. She’s definitely one I’d like to come back to, although I’m not sure I’d have the patience to write an entire novel from her POV, she’s quite verbose!

  2. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: a world of impossibilities « BeKindRewrite

Feedback feeds the muse. Join in the conversation here: